WTF Happened to Saturday Morning Cartoons

As a kid of the mid 70’s and 80’s I personally believe I grew up during the best time for cartoons on Saturday morning’s there were the reruns of classics like Flintstones, Atom Ant, Grape Ape, Deputy Dog, Looney Toons, Wacky Races, Perils of Penelope Pitstop, ,Help! It’s the Hair Bear Bunch, Augie  Doggy and Doggie Daddy. Then there’s the one’s i really remember Scooby Doo and the many spin offs it had like the one i really like The 13 Ghosts of Scooby Doo(Vincent Price FTW!), Superfriends,  Smurfs, Snorks, Heathcliff, Garfield and Friends, Donkey Kong,Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Shirt Tales,The Super Mario Bros. Super Show, Eureeka’s Castle, Alvin and the Chipmunks, Foofer, Jem and the Holograms, Captain America, Spiderman(yes it was a cartoon before it was a movie), The Real Ghostbusters(even the crappy Ghostbusters cartoon with the ape and what not is better then what they offer kids today), He-Man and the Masters of the Universe, G.I. JoeL A Real American Hero, Fraggle Rock, M.A.S.K., and Silverhawk and not really a cartoon show but a good part to Saturday Mornings was Pee Wee’s Playhouse  to mention some. These were great shows, we as kids would wake up at like 6 or 7am grab a bowl of our favorite cereal and sit down and enjoy like 3 or 4 hours of great cartoons. Then we would go out and play with our friends and talk about that morning’s cartoons and what our favorite part about it was or do our own little version of said cartoons through out the day. It was a great time to be a kid, but sadly this is where the cartoon goodness ends and the crap they throw at kids today begins. You have very little cartoons on saturday morning unless you have cable otherwise you’re SOL because ABC has disney shows on, CBS has crap like Noonbory and the Super 7, Busytown Mysteries, and Sabrina the Animated Series, Rollbots, Dinosaur King. Fox completely stopped showing cartoons all together on Saturday’s and that’s sad. The CW(formerly the WB) and MyNetworkTV wasn’t around back in the 80’s. Other then that you have 2nd rate re-creations of 80’s cartoons(just because you made it more CGI and less animation doesn’t make it better) which are just to horrible to watch and makes me wish that there was a way for my niece to watch the same cartoons I did as a kid. I mean what the hell happened to the networks and their vision of what Saturday morning’s should be?  Really you put news on saturday mornings? When did the weekends stop being for kids and more about grown ups? No kid wants to be stuck watching The Today Show, or The Early Show. I really wish all of the great cartoons that we grew up watching would have been put on VHS or DVD’s long before just recently because I for one would buy as many as I can so my niece has some quality Saturday morning entertainment, and for the parent’s that will say “I prefer to have my kid know what’s going on in the real world” or some other bullshit like that, I have one thing to say…GET YOUR HEAD OUT OF YOUR ASS and remember what it was like for you growing up. Why should the kids today suffer through the crap out there? Thank God for the Boomerang channel they show some of the good shows I mentioned and some I didn’t. well I think i’m done ranting now.


2 Responses to “WTF Happened to Saturday Morning Cartoons”

  1. OMG I had a total nostalgic moment reading the beginning of this haha i TOTALLY would get up at 630 – 700 and watch all the cartoons and eat my cereal and then go out to play! Man! It does suck that they have crap on on Sat mornings now .. I think our gen should revolt!

  2. ivy doolittle Says:

    I love the cartoons from my childhood. This was an awesome flash back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

